Stitt, Hofmeister cruise to party's nominations, Mullin advances to Senate runoff


By John Dobberstein, Editor

Gov. Kevin Stitt easily won the Republican nomination for the 2022 gubernatorial election, where he will face Democrat Joy Hofmeister, who also easily won Tuesday.

Stitt took 69% of the vote statewide, with Joel Kinstel (14%) and Mark Sherwood (13%) coming in far behind. Hofmeister won 61% of the vote over Connie Johnson (39%). Stitt handily won Tulsa County GOP votes with 72% of the vote, and Hofmeister with 66% Democrats or Independents.

In a highly anticipated matchup for U.S. Sen. Jim Inhofe’s seat, U.S. Rep. Markwayne Mullin advanced to a runoff election with T.W. Shannon. They will square off on Aug. 23.

Mullin received 43% of the vote to Shannon’s 17%. State Sen. Nathan Dahm, R-Broken Arrow, finished third with nearly 12% of the vote, barely edging Luke Holland. None of the other 9 people on the ballot in that Senate race mustered more than 5% of the vote.

U.S. Sen. James Lankford won the Republican primary for the other U.S. Senate seat, defeating Tulsa pastor Jackson Lahmeyer and Joan Farr of Broken Arrow. On the Democratic side, Madison Horn advanced to a primary runoff against Jason Bollinger and Independent Michael L. Delaney.

Locally, State Rep. Ross Ford, R-Broken Arrow, (District 76) easily defeated Timothy Brooks with 66% of the vote in the Republican primary, and State Sen. John Haste, R-Broken Arrow (District 36) won his primary battle against David Dambroso 59% to 41%.

For Tulsa County Commissioner, District 3, Kelly Dunkerley outpaced Bob Jack and Margie Alfonso with 49% of the vote to Jack’s 36% and Alfonso’s 15%.

For a complete rundown of Tuesday's election results, CLICK HERE.

I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is unverified