Two Broken Arrow High School students announced as 2023 Academic All-State Scholars

Broken Arrow High School seniors Sydney Bennett and Tony Le are the recipients of the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence Academic All-State Award based on their academic achievements, extracurricular activities and community involvement. This prestigious honor is given to the top 100 public high school seniors from 75 schools in 68 Oklahoma school districts.

“Broken Arrow High School is proud to recognize and celebrate our Academic All-Staters this year, Sydney Bennett and Tony Le,” said Broken Arrow High School College and Career Counselor Gina Giddens. “Being chosen as one of only 100 students in the state of Oklahoma is an impressive accomplishment. We are incredibly proud of them!"

The 2023 Academic All-State class is the 37th to be chosen by the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence since its establishment in 1987.

David L. Boren, chairman and founder of the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence, describes the selection of the scholars as “Oklahoma’s most rigorous academic competition.” To be nominated, students must meet one of the following criteria: an ACT composite score of at least 30, an SAT combined critical reading and math score of at least 1370, or selected as a semifinalist for a National Merit, National Achievement or National Hispanic Scholarship.

Each All-Stater receives a $1,500 merit-based scholarship and a medallion, and will be recognized at an awards banquet this spring.

For more information about the Academic All-State Scholars, please visit

I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is unverified